Improv For Therapists: Level 1 – Virtual

Join us for some self care and fun!

Improv for Therapists Level 1

Join us for our Virtual Improv Therapy Classes

Earn CEUs For Therapists

“Ability to engage in storytelling is incredibly beneficial to the populations I serve.”

“I have the awareness to develop today's training as a tool to connect well with others.”

“I feel that I will use this unit in groups to foster empathy and encourage connection in a safe space.”

“I work a lot with adolescent who struggle with emotions so this will be helpful.”

“I am likely to use the "Reminds Me of..." with couples who have trouble connecting and listening to each other.”

“I can use this with my elderly mother who is a stroke victim as well as some of my older clients..especially the alphabet game.”

“Directly applicable to the way I lead my inpatient groups.”

Here are the modules you will learn, practice and be able to incorporate into your practice:

  • MAGIC WORDS: Communication and “Yes, and”
  • PERFECT IS BORING: Embracing Imperfection
  • BRAIN YOGA: Cognitive Flexibility, Neuroplasticity and Memory
  • I SECOND THAT EMOTION: Emotional Intelligence and Empathy
  • OUR STORIES OURSELVES: Creative Storytelling and Expression
  • HEAL THYSELF: Stress Reduction and Self Care
  • FOLLOW THE FEAR: It's OK to Fail
  • IN THE NOW: Mindfulness and Being Present
Come have fun, learn and play online. Try our "Improv For Therapists" class.

We welcome all practitioners and counselors!

The Improv Therapy Group is the manifestation of a profound connection between life skills and improvisation training. Improv classes provide a safe space to practice imperfection, let go of control and practice mindfulness while having fun and laughing.

We will leave time to process how the communication techniques learned in these games and exercises have been applied to Dialectical Behavior Therapy, Group Therapy, Couples Therapy and Individual Therapy.

EACH WEEKLY CLASS EARNS 1.25 CONTINUING EDUCATION UNITS (CEU)

All classes meet on ZOOM.

Tuesday Evenings

IMPROV FOR THERAPISTS: Level One

For Clinicians & Counselors Only
8 weeks
Classes are weekly on Tuesdays
8:00pm to 9:15pm EST
7:00pm to 8:15pm CST
6:00pm to 7:15pm MST
5:00pm to 6:15pm PST

Start Date:  January 10, 2023
End Date:   February 28, 2023

Registration
$295 EARLY BIRD PRICING
$360 Regular price

 

Friday Mornings

IMPROV FOR THERAPISTS: Level One

For Clinicians & Counselors Only
8 weeks
Classes are weekly on Fridays
11:30am to 12:45 pm EST
10:30am to 11:45am CST
9:30am to 10:45am MST
8:30am to 9:45am PST

Start Date:  January 13, 2023
End Date:   March 3, 2023

Registration
$295 EARLY BIRD PRICING
$360 Regular price

Improv Plus Therapy

CEU CREDITS AVAILABLE FOR ALL CLASSES!

CEUs are issued by Riveredge Hospital, an approved continuing education provider by the State of Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, available for LSW, LCSW, LPC, and LCPC licenses.

MAKE UP CLASS POLICY

Vacation already planned? Have an emergency come up? We get it; life happens. Improv Therapy Group is pleased to offer one make up class per 8 week term for extenuating circumstances. Please communicate with your instructors to schedule. Make-up classes are subject to availability.