Improv For Crisis Workers: Two Hour Intensive – Virtual

Join us for some self care and fun!

Join us for our Virtual Improv Therapy Classes

Compassion fatigue and burnout can have a significant impact on well-being.

During this 2-hour immersive journey, you will explore self-care strategies to reduce stress and engage in play. 

Join us for this fun and innovative opportunity to heal through laughter!

Here are the modules you will learn, practice and be able to incorporate into your practice:

Communication/Yes And

  • Participants  will be able to explain that the foundation of improvisation is built on the concepts of "Yes, and” and active listening. 
  • Participants will demonstrate their “Yes, and,” and active listening skills in applied improvisation activities.
  • Participants will be able to explain how both of these concepts relate to their crisis intervention work.

Heal Thyself: Self Care and Stress Reduction

  • Participants will be able to explain how play and laughter reduces stress.
  • Participants will demonstrate play and laughter through applied improvisation exercises.
  • Participants will identify ways to incorporate play and laughter in their work to help them navigate stressful situations.
  • Participants will be able to explain how applied improvisation can aid crisis workers in practicing self care and creative expression.

INSTRUCTORS

Nix-Schneider-headshot

Nix Schneider (he/him), MSW, is a social worker, educator, author, and the Manager of Education and Training with Solari Crisis and Human Services. Nix oversees Solari’s education and training program and facilitates internal and external trainings on topics surrounding crisis intervention, suicide prevention, trauma-informed care, compassion fatigue, self-care, diversity and inclusion. Nix received his Masters of Social Work from Hunter College School of Social Work and considers himself to be a teacher and student for life. He is committed to supporting, educating, and empowering people to cultivate compassion, be an ally to all, and become change agents for mental health. Nix is working on his debut musical about utilizing the magic of improv to help destigmatize mental illness and connect people through creative self-expression. His dog Punky is his biggest fan.

megan-sweet-headshot

Megan Sweet (she/her), Megan joins us as an Improv Instructor. Her focus is utilizing applied improvisation in crisis intervention work to expand creative thinking, gain confidence, social support, and to increase emotional wellbeing and self-care. Megan has experience utilizing crisis intervention  with children and families in their homes, and with the Seattle Police Departments’ Victim Support Team. In addition, Megan is the founder of IMPROVed Mind, dedicated to bringing applied improvisation, mindfulness, and social and emotional learning in the schools and the community. Megan performs stand-up, improv, and sketch comedy in the NJ/NYC area. In her spare time, Megan enjoys subjecting her family (especially her two young sons) to her various comedy ideas, reviewing bad movies, and trying her best at being a human.

Wednesday Afternoon

IMPROV FOR CRISIS WORKERS:
Two Hour Intensive

September 7, 2022

12:00pm to 2:00pm EST
11:00am to 1:00pm CST
10:00am to 12:00pm MST
9:00am to 11:00am PST

Registration
$50 EARLY BIRD PRICING
$75 Regular price

 

Wednesday Afternoon

IMPROV FOR CRISIS WORKERS:
Two Hour Intensive

September 14, 2022

7:00pm to 9:00pm EST
6:00pm to 8:00pm CST
5:00pm to 7:00pm MST
4:00pm to 6:00pm PST

Registration
$50 EARLY BIRD PRICING
$75 Regular price